Brunell Ladies Basketball Club
Friday April 19 2019 
Featured Sponsors

The Joshua Tree
Maldron Hotel
Singleton's Supervalu
86950 visitors
since November 5, 2010

RSS Feed


Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 
USA Trip 2011
Aug 7, 2011, 7:53 pm

UPDATE: Brunell Basketball club U18 team completed it schedule of games in the St.Michaels College Tournament with back to back wins. The first game of the morning at 9.00am was against Thetford whom we beat on a scoreline of 61 - 46 and the final game of the day at 10.15am was against Rice who were accounted for on a scoreline of 52 - 48, giving the team a 5 wins and 1 loss record.

USA Trip 2011
Aug 7, 2011, 12:02 pm

Brunell Basketball Clubs U18 team finished Saturday with a 1 and 1 record. In the afternoon game Brunell defeated U32 on a scoreline of 54 - 33 and in the final game of the day Brunell lost their undefeated record to St.Michaels College on a score line of 63 - 46. The team will finish its sehedule of games today playing at 9.00am against Thetford and the final game of the tournament will be against Rice at 10.15am.

USA Trip 2011
Aug 6, 2011, 3:22 pm

Brunell Basketball Club U18's remain undefeated after the first 2 rounds of the St.Michaels College Tournament. Brunell deafeated South Burlington High School on a Scoreline of 35 - 34 on Friday 5th August 2011 and followed up with another win this morning against Vermont Cats on a Scoreline 59 - 48.

2011 Training times
Aug 1, 2011, 8:18 pm

We are all back training on the week of 15th August and the team training times are as follows;

U12's Thursday 18th 5-6

U14's Tuesday 16th and Friday 19th 5-6

U16's Tuesday 16th 7-8 and Sunday 21st 12.30-1.30

Premier Wednesday 31st 6-7

If you cannot make your first weeks training please let your coach know ASAP.

Brunell Voted Club of The Year 2011
Jun 7, 2011, 1:46 pm


Cork Ladies Basketball Board presented awards to the top players of each grade at the annual awards night in the Clarion Hotel on Monday 23rd May. Brunell players presented with awards on the night included Amy Murphy U12A, Edel Thornton U15 and Megan O’Leary U16A. The Club was also honoured with the Club of The Year award for an outstanding season at both local and national level. The County Board expressed their best wish to the club for the coming season at SuperLeague level and are looking forward to big local derbies between Brunell and Glanmire next year.

St. Vincents Win Third All Ireland Title for 2010/2011
Jun 7, 2011, 1:06 pm

Story Image Thumbnail

St.Vincent’s Secondary School 2nd Year A Girls claim 3rd All Ireland Honour for 2010-2011.

Loreto Beaufort and Mercy Mounthawk met in the first semi-final of the 2nd Year A Girls with the Mounthawk girls hoping to build on their 1st Year girls success. Both sides had periods of domination in this game however it took a period of overtime to divide the sides. A dramatic end to normal time as both sides exchanged free throws in the dying minutes. Loreto Beaufort emerged as victors on this occasion, however there is no doubt this Mounthawk side will challenge for honours in the future. The second semi-final saw St. Vincent’s Cork meet Presentation Secondary School Tralee. The Cork side were vying for their third All Ireland title for the 2010-2011 season. Both teams got off to a slow start with the score at half time 9-6 in favour of Vincent’s. A match winning performance from Edel Thornton who scored 20 points ensured the Cork outfit would march on another step closer to a fantastic season. As Loreto Beaufort and St.Vincents Cork took the floor for the 2nd Year A Girls All Ireland Final tensions were high. Both sides with great support took to the floor to give their supporters something to shout about. Outstanding displays from Edel Thornton and Olivia Dupuy each with 17 points saw Vincent’s take a ten point lead at the break. Beaufort fought hard to get in sight of the Cork side. However, the Cork side turned on the heat again and ran out convincing winners 46-30.

2nd Year A Girls Semi Final

UL Court 1, 11:15;

Loreto Beaufort (Dublin) 35 (7) (R Cleary 17, A Hughes 9, J Milroy 7)

Mercy Mounthawk (Kerry) 29 (12) (A Crowley 8, C Ryan 7, C Fitzgerald 6)

UL Court 2, 11:15;

St.Vincents (Cork) 37 (9) (E Thornton 20, O Dupuy 7, A O Rourke 6)

Presentation SS, Tralee (Kerry) 24 (6) (C Hayes 8, S Bresnan 4, S Hanafin 4),


2nd Year A Girls Final

UL Court 2, 14:30;

Loreto Beaufort (Dublin) 30 (19) (R Cleary 11, J Milroy 9, A Hughes 4)

St.Vincents (Cork) 46 (29) (O Dupuy 17, E Thornton 17, S Morrissey 2, A O Rourke 2)

Congradulatons to all players on the team especially to those who are Brunell players including Edel Thornton, Alison  O'Rourke, Kayleigh O'Connor, Claire Covney, Emma Brown, Laura Kelly, Nicole Meehen, Sarah Morrissey and Dyon Manning.

Club's Senior Awards Night 2011
Jun 7, 2011, 12:52 pm

The club honoured its senior teams with an awards night in the Joshua Tree on the 14th May where presentations were made to Most Valuable Players of all the senior teams in the club and Sharon and Danielle made presentations to Ann, Michelle and Kieran for their work with the National League Division One team during the year.

Premier MVP: Kathleen Kelleher

Division 1 MVP: Linda Dennehy

National League Division 1 MVP: Danielle O’Leary

Club's Awards Night 2011
Jun 6, 2011, 8:48 pm

Following a fantastic season the club honoured it’s top players at an awards night in St. Vincents Hurling & Football Club on the 29th of April. The Club achieved 14 titles this year so far including the U16A All Ireland Club Championship Title. The Club’s role of honour is as follows;

U13-   Championship Winners.

U14C- Championship Winners.

League Winners.

U15-   Cork Pre Season Tournament Winners.

         Top Four Winners

U16A- Cork Pre Season Tournament Winners.

Kerry Pre Season Tournament Winners.

Championship Winners.

League Winners.

All Ireland Club Championship Winners.

Top Four Winners

U18A-  Championship Winners.

         League Winners

Top Four Winners

The players presented with awards on the night are as follows;

U10 MIP: Lauren Rahilly & Kaytlin Tierney

U10 MVP: Leah Collins & Ellie Healy

U12C MIP: Hazel Forde

U12C MVP: Emma Phelan & Amy Connolly

U12A MIP: Megan Hartnett & Rebecca Miller

U12A MVP: Amy Murphy

U13 MIP: Kelly Murphy

U13 MVP: Sarah Morrissey

U14C MIP: Lauren Nodwell & Kelsey Ricken

U14C MVP: Amy Murphy

U14A MIP: Aleksandra Macheta & Andrea Moynihan

U14A MVP: Alyson O’Rourke

U15 Best Defensive Player: Kayley O’Connor

U15 MVP: Edel Thornton

U16A MIP: Aoife Dineen

U16A MVP: Edel Thornton

U18A MVP: Gemma Dowling

Under Age Player of the Year: Megan O’Leary

Club Person of the Year: Jason Thornton

Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 

Powered by Team Website Platform
Terms and Conditions | Privacy Statement